2020 RE-RASSOR Gold Team

What is RE-RASSOR: 

Research Education – Regolith Advanced Surface Systems Operations Robot, RE-RASSOR, is designed to emulate the RASSOR project that is under development at NASA’s development lab Swampworks. This project is being worked on by multiple teams of Computer Science students from University of Central Florida. The goal of the EZ-RASSOR project is to bring the technology being developed at Swampworks and make it open-sourced, so that anyone can view the code and contribute if they would like to. As well as to design a 3D-printable frame of the rover and select low-cost hardware parts for the physical rover. With these goals we are trying to make it so that if anyone would like to experiment with a rover of their own it would be a very easy and cheap processes to get started. Currently with the work of teams over multiple years we have designed a way to simulate a rover in multiple environments and gave the rovers path finding capabilities and obstacle detection. There is also an implementation of a swarm functionality so anyone can run test of multiple rovers performing tasks. For the physical rover there is currently 2 different types of 3D printable files that people can print out, with one being much larger to show what the actual rover looks like inside the simulation, and another being much smaller but able to demonstrate the rover’s pathfinding and obstacle detection in the real world. We are hoping that with this project that anyone who would like to experiment with rovers can do so very easily without worrying about where to get started.


The simulated Mini-RASSOR (left) and NASA’s RASSOR (right)
The smaller Physical Demo Rover
Multiple Rovers inside the flat world simulation

For getting started refer to the GitHub readme. 
FlaSpaceInst/EZ-RASSOR: An inexpensive, autonomous, regolith-mining robot (github.com) 

Project Sponsors:  

Florida Space Institute  

Mike Conroy 

Further Acknowledgements: 

Kurt W. Leucht  

Ronald Marrero 

Tiger Sachse 

UCF Student Developers: 

Year 1

Sean Rapp, Ron Marrero, Tiger Sachse, Tyler Duncan, Samuel Lewis, Harrison Black, Camilo Lozano, Chris Taliaferro, Cameron Taylor, Lucas Gonzalez 

Year 2:  

Black Team: Jordan Albury, Shelby Basco, John Hacker, Michael Jimenez, Scott Scalera 

Gold Team: Daniel Silva, Chin Winn, Martin Power, Daniel Simoes, Autumn Esponda 

Year 3:  

Black Team: Brandon Clark, Francis Fermo, Alexander Hillegass, Michaela Pinter, Conner Weik 

Gold Team: Jordan Carlton, Jeremy Dantes, Zachariah Tatman, Samuel Williams, Diego Zamora